#### KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

### **GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL**

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 12 February 2010.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

#### **UNRESTRICTED ITEMS**

# 1. Minutes - 4 December 2009 (Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 4 December 2009 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

## 2. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel decided not to appoint Mr G Houston to the governing body of any school.
- (2) The Panel decided not to appoint Mr J Bede-Cox to the governing body of The Towers School and agreed that he should be offered a place at a school nearer to his place of residence.
- (3) The Panel noted that Mrs B Simpson had withdrawn her nomination for the governing body of Kemsley Primary School.
- (4) The Panel noted the urgent action taken by the Managing Director Children, Families and Education in consultation with the Chairman to appoint Dr A Jefford and Mr J Muckle to the governing body of Dartford Bridge Community School.
- (5) The Panel agreed to consider the late submission of Lady P Plender's renomination to the governing body of Sundridge and Brasted Primary School and also agreed to her re-appointment.
- (6) RESOLVED that the appointments of Local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools and Pupil Referral Units be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

# 3. Presentation to next meeting (*Item* )

The School Governance Officer informed the Panel that the Head of School Governance would be giving a presentation on 21<sup>st</sup> Century School Governance to its next meeting.

# APPENDIX (Paragraph 2 of the Minutes refers)

## 1. PARTNERSHIP: AS1 ASHFORD

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2270	Aldington Primary School	Mrs J Saltwood
2279	Brook Community Primary School	Mr P Webb
3133	Kennington CEJ School	Mr A Burden
4246	The North School	Mr M Janes

## 2. PARTNERSHIP: ASHFORD RURAL

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2686	Furley Park Primary School	Revd I Parish
2288	Smarden Primary School	Mrs S Atkins

## 3. PARTNERSHIP: CANTERBURY CITY AND COUNTRY

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2259	Chartham Primary School	Cllr R Doyle
7063	St Nicholas' School	Mr R O'Shea

## 4. PARTNERSHIP: CANTERBURY COASTAL

DCSF No: School Appointee

## 5. PARTNERSHIP: CRANBROOK AND PADDOCK WOOD

DCSF No: School Appointee

## 6. PARTNERSHIP: DARTFORD EAST

School	Appointee
Knockhall Community Primary School	Mr N Al-Hakim
Knockhall Community Primary School	Mrs L Howes
New Ash Green Primary School	Mr D Brazier
Fleetdown Primary School	Revd C Gilbert
Fleetdown Primary School	Mrs S Lawford
Fleetdown Primary School	Mrs S Ruban
	Knockhall Community Primary School Knockhall Community Primary School New Ash Green Primary School Fleetdown Primary School Fleetdown Primary School

## 7. PARTNERSHIP: DARTFORD WEST

DCSF No: School Appointee

#### 8. PARTNERSHIP: DEAL AND SANDWICH

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
4207	Castle Community College	Mrs S Jones
7067	Portal House School	Mrs E Talbot
7067	Portal House School	Mr D Robertson
5463	Sandwich Technology School	Mr L Ridings
2532	St Margaret's-at-Cliffe Primary School	Mrs B Paul

## 9. PARTNERSHIP: DOVER

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2320	Eythorne Elvington Community Primary School	Mr D Jones
2318	Harbour School	Miss C Ball
2313	St Martin's School	Mr D Carey

### 10. PARTNERSHIP: GRAVESHAM

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2674	Kings Farm Primary School	Mr I Chapell
2116	Lawn Primary School	Mrs L Colbear
2525	Painters Ash Primary School	Mr G Haran
2119	Shears Green Infant Schooll	Mr G Reading
2509	Singlewell Primary School	Mr J Thompson

## 11. PARTNERSHIP: MAIDSTONE 1

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
7032	Bower Grove School	Mr J Aindow
2653	West Borough Primary School	Dr A Alderton

## 12. PARTNERSHIP: MC2 (MAIDSTONE)

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3461	Archbishop Courtenay Primary School	Mrs D Joy
2552	Sandling Primary School	Mr F Bailey

## 13. PARTNERSHIP: MALLING

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
5223	Brookfield Junior School, Larkfield	Mrs L Greenaway
2680	Kings Hill School	Miss H Miller
2562	Lunsford Primary School	Mrs C Monan
2530	Tunbury Primary School	Mr C Cleland

## 14. PARTNERSHIP: SEVENOAKS SOUTH

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2134	Four Elms Primary School	Mrs D Aronow
2136	Kemsing Primary School	Mr B Bannister
2136	Kemsing Primary School	Mr R Pierson
3043	Sundridge and Brasted CE Primary School	Lady P Plender

## 15. PARTNERSHIP: SHEPWAY 1

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3148	Christ Church CEP School	Mr D Dickinson (

48 Christ Church CEP School Mr D Dickinson (subject to return of Nomination form)

### 16. PARTNERSHIP: SHEPWAY RURAL

DCSF No: School Appointee

3155 Lympne CEP School Mrs R Gainsford

#### 17. PARTNERSHIP: SWALE RURAL

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3328	Bapchild and Tonge CEP School	Mrs S Davies
2254	Canterbury Road Primary School	Mr K Read
3109	Hernhill CEP School	Mr J May
2252	Murston Junior School	Mr E Gent
2239	Rodmersham School	Mr N Simpson
	Proposed Federation of Selling, Lynsted and	·
	Norton and Milstead and Frinsted Schools	Ms L Lumsden
	Proposed Federation of Selling, Lynsted and	
	Norton and Milstead and Frinsted Schools	Mr M Swainson

Proposed Federation of Selling, Lynsted and Norton and Milstead and Frinsted Schools

18. PARTNERSHIP: SWALE URBAN

DCSF No: School Appointee

Proposed Federation of Kemsley and Milton

Court Schools

Proposed Federation of Kemsley and Milton

Court Schools Mr M Westlake

Mr P Thompson

Mr A Tolhurst

19. PARTNERSHIP: SWANLEY AND DISTRICT

DCSF No: School Appointee

20. PARTNERSHIP: THANET 1

DCSF No: School Appointee

21. PARTNERSHIP: THANET 2

DCSF No: School Appointee

5468 Ellington and Hereson School Mrs J Northedge

### 22. PARTNERSHIP: TONBRIDGE

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2128	Capel Primary School	Mrs P Darbyshire
3033	Hildenborough CEP School	Mrs C Rogers
3744	St Margaret Clitherow Catholic Primary	_
	School	Dr M Bain
2539	Stocks Green Primary School	Mr P Robertson
	Proposed Federation of Hugh Christie	
	Technology College and Long Mead	
	Community Primary School	Dr P Brierly

#### 23. **PARTNERSHIP: TUNBRIDGE WELLS**

DCSF No: School

Mrs P Kift Broadwater Down Primary School 2651

#### 24. **PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS**

DCSF No: PRU

**Appointee** Mrs M Danilewicz 9014 (Thanet 2) Thanet and Dover Alternative

**Appointee** 

Curriculum Unit

(Shepway Rural) Warm Stone Management 9008 Mrs J Berry

Committee